Books That Have Changed My 2016

Hello! I thought for today’s blog post, seeing as I’m mentioning my favourites from 2016, that I would dedicate a whole blog post to my favourite books from 2016. I am kind of a book worm (you should see the amount of books I actually want right now – it’s about a million) and I thought that seeing as I have always loved reading, why not make a blog post about books?

(Just going to say before I write about them, that majority of them are YouTuber books because I love YouTubers.)

So, I guess I should start then. The books that have changed my 2016 are:

Firstly, I am going to talk about non-Youtuber books (as you can see from the two photographs above). The first book that changed my 2016 was Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. I only found out about this book in 2015 and I knew that I wanted it straight away so when I received it for my 16th birthday, I was over the moon. I didn’t really know what the book was about, but I had heard good things about it so was willing to read it without knowing anything. To sum it up, this book is based around the life of a girl called Cath who goes to University with her twin sister and instead of wanting to go out partying like her sister is, she prefers to stay in her room writing fan fiction. There’s a lot more to it than just that (obviously otherwise it wouldn’t have been made into a book), but that’s basically it summed up. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and read it within a week (not gonna lie, I could’ve read it within 2 days but I wanted to savour it for as long as I could). I highly recommend reading this book as I absolutely loved it and am definitely going to be reading it over and over for several years now.

The second book that changed my 2016 was The Manifesto On How To Be Interesting by Holly Bourne. Yet again, I didn’t really know what this book was about, I just read the blurb on Amazon and knew that I wanted it. I would first of all just like to mention the design of this book. The front cover is very effective with the bright red and the black, but the outside of the pages are red. RED. I know. How cool. As soon as I saw this, I wanted to read it straight away (but I read Fangirl first). This book is about a girl called Bree who is unpopular and is seen as an outcast. She decides, seeing as she loves writing, that she would start a blog (called The Manifesto On How To Be Interesting) and change her lifestyle so she can fit in with the popular people at her school. She updates her blog on everything that she does. I really enjoyed this book (even though it took me a while to finish because I was busy) and I definitely recommend reading it as I haven’t seen anyone on the Internet review it. The only thing I’d say about this book is it can be bitchy at times (you’ve been warned!).

Okay, now I’m onto YouTuber books. I have loved 4 YouTuber books throughout 2016 (as you can see from the photographs above) and I highly recommend all of them.

The first YouTuber book that changed my 2016 was Binge by Tyler Oakley (I would just like to mention that my copy is signed – I know I freaked out too). I have loved Tyler Oakley ever since I found his channel in 2012 and I really badly wanted his book when it came out… But I had to wait until Christmas 2015 as my cousin got me a signed edition (sorry I keep mentioning it, I’m still not over it and I’ve had it for over a year!). This book is how I thought it would be – and more. The book is literally Tyler’s life and, because he’s written it himself, it makes it more personal and more enjoyable as it literally feels like Tyler Oakley (this is hard to explain but you probably get what I mean). I enjoyed this book so much that it made my love for Tyler grow even more. (I also face swapped with the front and back cover and it’s hilarious – I cried.)

The second YouTuber book that changed my 2016 was Generation Next by Oli White. I’m not going to lie: when Oli announced his book and read the blurb, I wasn’t totally convinced I was going to enjoy this book. But it’s 100000000000% times better than what I thought it was going to be (I couldn’t put it down). The book is about a boy called Jack who, with some friends of his, creates the next big website. The book talks about how it was created, Jack’s struggles with life and also how the fame is with him and his friends now that they are well-known online. (That was possibly the worst description ever so go read the blurb on Amazon or something.) I enjoyed this book so much that I read it within like 3 days (something like that) and once I finished, I wanted a part 2 (hint hint Oli). I am genuinely happy that I loved Oli White that much (and still do) that I bought his book even though I wasn’t massively keen on it. It’s definitely one of my favourite books of all time. Congrats Oli White. 🙂

The next YouTuber book that changed my 2016 was Username: Regenerated by Joe Sugg (my favourite YouTuber in the whole world can I just add). This is definitely my favourite book I read in 2016. I absolutely loved Username: Evie and the sequel to that was just as good. Username: Regenerated is a graphic novel which carries on the story of Evie and E.scape, a virtual world Evie’s dad made for her. Apart from this time it wasn’t in the virtual world (kind of gave it away now didn’t I? Sorry.). I love Joe so much that I walked for an hour just to get this book. An hour. It was definitely worth it. (Joe noticed me on Twitter and made my life so thanks for that. Very appreciated for that.) I couldn’t highly recommend this book enough. I am genuinely excited to find out what is going to happen next in this series as it’s blimming amazing!

The final book that changed my 2016 was Caspar Lee by Caspar Lee and Emily Riordan Lee. I was so excited to buy this book (I ran towards it when I was in WHSmiths… Yes. I ran.) and it was soooooooo good. I loved every second of reading it. This book is about Caspar’s life, but it’s written from his mother’s perspective. Caspar, once he found out, then added his own little notes, which makes it even better than just an ordinary Biography. From reading this book, I found out a hell of a lot more about Caspar and fell in love with him even more (I didn’t know that was possible at the time but it was apparently). This is such an interesting idea for a book and I definitely recommend it to anyone who is a fan of Caspar.

That’s all of the books that have changed my 2016. I hope you’ve enjoyed reading and comment down below any books that have changed your 2016 so that me and other people can check them out and make them change our 2017.

 

Leave a Reply

