Mental Health

Hello! 🙂

Today’s blogpost is 1) going up late as I forgot it was Sunday and 2) going to be more serious than usual.

If you are/were aware, this past week has been Mental Health Awareness week, which I have absolutely loved as it needs to be talked about more as people still don’t understand it fully. I actually had to learn a bit about how people view mental health for media and it made me realise that there is still a hell of a lot of work left to do before everyone realises what it’s actually like. (I don’t know if that made any sense sorry!)

The reason why I am making this blogpost is because someone who we know will be suffering currently/would be suffering in the future. And to know that is scary.

I, myself, struggle a bit with mental health. I have anxiety, specifically social anxiety, however, I do panic about other things that aren’t social, but it’s not too bad thankfully. I wouldn’t say that I have it extremely bad, as I know that there are people out there who it affects a lot more than it does for me, but I don’t have it “lightly” either. If you knew what I was like in real life, you would definitely know that I have social anxiety by the way that I am. 

Everyone has their ways of coping: some people like to talk about it with others to get help and others like to deal with it by themselves. I’m the type of person who deals with it by themselves as I had it a lot worse when I was 12/13 years old and it calmed down so much by techniques that I found worked best. However, I do know someone very very close to me who deals with it by talking to someone (I’m not going to say who they are because they don’t want it to be a “big” thing). 

I guess what I’m trying to say is, bearing in mind that I have social anxiety and that I know someone who really struggles with mental health whom I have helped, you are not alone and you will overcome it one day. It will never fully leave as there will be days it’ll come back, however, majority of the time it won’t be there. Mental health needs to be talked about so much more than it is as it’s becoming a bigger and bigger thing around the world. 

Anyway, that’s all that I have for this blogpost. Sorry that’s it’s a short one but I just wanted to talk about it and contribute to the discussion of mental health. I hope you’ve enjoyed reading as much as I’ve enjoyed writing and I hope that if you struggle with mental health this helps, even if it’s only the tiniest amount. 🙂

Leave a Reply

