Easy Flapjack Recipe

Hello! πŸ˜€

I thought that I would start a new little series on my blog which involves baking (I don’t bake a lot so it won’t be featured a lot on here). A little bit of information that everyone reading should know about me is that I’m quite good at baking (cooking however is a different story but I’m learning and getting there). I took Food and Nutrition for GCSE and, despite the awful teacher for the first year of it, I really enjoyed it.

I recently made some flapjacks as it was Father’s Day last Sunday and my dad absolutely loves flapjacks. I thought, that seeing as it’s really easy, simple and it doesn’t take too much time to make, that I would share it with people who read my blog. So if you are looking to want to make something very tasty that’s easy or you want a little push towards learning to bake, then here is a recipe for you! πŸ˜€

To make these flapjacks you will need:

  • 150g margarine
  • 100g demerara sugar (or caster sugar – for one of the trays I made I used caster sugar and it turned out the exact same, but I find it that slightly bit easier with demerara)
  • 1 tbsp of golden syrup
  • 200g porridge oats

(Just a heads up, to make the amount that I made in the featured photograph, I doubled the amount and made two lots of the recipe doubled.)

As well as these ingredients, a saucepan, scales (to measure obviously), a tablespoon and trays (as many as you are planning to make) are also needed.

The Method:

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 180Β°C/350Β°F/Gas Mark 4.
  2. Grease your trays with a tiny bit of margarine so the flapjack mixture doesn’t stick and is easy to get out once it’s cooked.
  3. In the saucepan, add the sugar, syrup and margarine. Turn the temperature up high so these will melt together (if it smells like the butter is burning, it most likely isn’t but you can turn it down if this worries you in any way).
  4. Once the sugar, syrup and margarine has melted, take it off the heat and add all of the porridge oats to the saucepan. Mix the both together until the porridge oats is completely covered in the liquid mixture.
  5. Place the flapjack mixture into the tray/s you have prepared and make sure it is evenly spread (I use a spatula to do this as I find it easier to move the mixture around the tray).
  6. Place in the oven and cook for 20 minutes or until golden brown.
  7. Once the flapjack mixture is out, immediately cut into squares and leave to fully cool down (you will know when this is as they will go really stiff and won’t fall apart).

A Voila! You are finished and have some nice, easy and tasty flapjacks to eat! πŸ™‚

These are really great as a simple gesture for someone. For example: I made these for my dad as a present for Father’s Day. These could be made as a present or just a simple snack.

That’s all that I have for this blogpost. I hope you’ve enjoyed reading as much as I’ve enjoyed writing and let me know in the comments if you ever try this recipe out. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

