Faceless Book Review

Hello! 😀

I’m going to be doing a book review on Faceless which is written by Alyssa Sheinmel. I was meant to read this book ages ago when it was the Easter holidays, but I never got around to actually reading it until June. Now that I have officially finished reading it, I get to express my opinions on how I thought the book was.

For those of you who have no idea what the book is about, here is the blurb:

“When Maisie is burnt in a terrible accident, her face is partially destroyed. She’s lucky enough to get a face transplant, but how do you live your life when you can’t even recognise yourself any more? As Maisie discovers how much her looks shaped her relationship to the world, she has to redefine her own identity, and figure out what ‘lucky’ really means.”

When I first saw this book on Amazon, I thought that it sounded interesting so I added it to my wish list, bearing in mind I had about 20 books already on there (I’m a seriously big bookworm). When I went through to delete majority of them as I knew I wouldn’t get them for years, this book was the one that I just couldn’t delete. I found the concept of the book really interesting and fascinating that I had to leave it on there.

My mum randomly bought it for me one day and I added it to the list of books that I had to read (because like I mentioned, I’m a bookworm so I’m obviously going to have books waiting for me to read already). Once I finally got to read it, it was 1000% worth the long wait.

This book redefines what the word “lucky” means in a way as most people who are in a situation like Maisie’s wouldn’t think that they were lucky, even though they survived. However, by the end of the book, Maisie actually realises that everything that had happened to her was by being lucky.

This book also covers what people could go through during transplants. Majority of transplants aren’t like Maisie’s though as she could see hers whenever she looked in a mirror, but despite that, it makes you realise how them people feel. Having people staring at you because of something you can’t control or change back is horrible and this book lets you know what it’s like for someone like that. It also basically says that, no mater what has happened to you, everyone is human, which is a nice little message featured throughout the book.

On the back of the book that I have, it says to try and describe the book in three words, which is a massive challenge bearing in mind the book is over 300 pages long. However, I would describe the book using the following words: emotional, change, lucky. And you’ll understand why I chose these three words if you’ve read it.

Overall rating: 4.5 stars out of 5.

I really enjoyed reading this book and would genuinely recommend this book to anyone. It’s a different story than what most writers decide to produce and I think that’s why I enjoy it so much.

That’s all that I have for this blog post. I hope you’ve enjoyed reading as much as I’ve enjoyed writing. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Faceless Book Review

Leave a Reply

